Michael Thali

Contact: University of Zurich, Institute of Forensic Medicine Zurich, CH-8057 Zurich, Switzerland, michael.thali@virtopsy.com , telephone +41 (0)44 635 5611

CV: Michael J Thali, MD, EMBA, current Professor and Chair of the Institute of Forensic Medicine at the University of Zurich (Switzerland) and former chair of the Institute of Forensic Medicine at the University of Bern (Switzerland), is a co-founder of the Virtopsy Project and active advocator of virtual autopsy(www.virtopsy.com). He was a resident in radiology at the Institute of Radiology at the University of Bern (Switzerland) and completed a fellowship at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, Washington DC (USA). He is editor of the textbook on virtual autopsy The Virtopsy Approach (2009) and the latest edition of Brogdon’s Forensic Radiology (2010). He has co-authored over 150 papers on forensic radiology and virtual autopsy. Michael Thali is the past-chairman of the ISFRI (www.isfri.org) Founder Board and Editor in Chief of the JOFRI (www.jofri.com).

Current team members

Garyfalia Ampanozi garyfalia.ampanozi@virtopsy.com publications
Vasiliki Chatzaraki vasiliki.chatzaraki@virtopsy.com publications
Lars Ebert lars.ebert@virtopsy.com publications
Sebastian Eggert sebastian.eggert@virtopsy.com publications
Patricia Flach patricia.flach@virtopsy.com publications
Dominic Gascho dominic.gascho@virtopsy.com publications
Jakob Heimer jakob.heimer@virtopsy.com publications
Sören Kottner soeren.kottner@virtopsy.com publications
Anja Leipner anja.leipner@virtopsy.com publications
Rosita Martinez rosita.martinez@virtopsy.com publications
Wolf Schweitzer wolf.schweitzer@virtopsy.com publications
Till Sieberth till.sieberth@virtopsy.com publications
Carlo Tappero carlo.tappero@irm.uzh.ch publications
Niklaus Zölch niklaus.zoelch@virtopsy.com publications

Visitors, Research Students and Research Fellows

  • Thera McAvoy (research student, Cranfield University, UK) ~ (publications)
  • India Laborde (research student, Cranfield University, UK) ~ (publications)
  • Katherine Edwards (research student, Cranfield University, UK) (publications)
  • Bed Edgell (research student, Cranfield University, UK) (publications)
  • Colleen Kelly (research student, Cranfield University, UK) ~ (publications)
  • Giannina Giugni (Masters student, University of Zurich) ~ (publications)
  • Eddie Surer (Masters student, University of Zurich) (publications)
  • Marina Elliott (research student, Simon Fraser University, Canada) (publications)
  • Saiful Nizam Abdul Rashid (publications)

Former Members